Search in
English French Nederlands
MDC III (Mattias De Craene)
Tuesday March 20, 2018
8:00 PM
MDC III (Mattias De Craene)
La Conserve

Contact information
Address Kolonel Begaultlaan 15
3012 Louvain
Web site Dedicated website
Leuven Jazz

Contact information
Web site Dedicated website
Address Rijschoolstraat 4 bus 004
3000 Louvain
Phone +32 (0)16/23 84 27
Email Write an email
Web site Dedicated website

I sax + II drums

Since Interstellar Space the combination of sax and drums has received an aura of sublime spiritual ambition. It is where tireless truth seekers come together to aim for something transcendental. Of course, a lot has happened in the meantime. The available options are endless. Musicians are aware of those historical turning points, yet they also try to add their own twists and interpretations.

Mattias De Craene III is a project involving drums and saxophone. De Craene invited two drummers that have been active in the worlds of jazz, pop, free improvisation and experimental music. They are the ideal foil for De Craene’s vision, which seems to exclude no opposites. While the use of a recorder, electronics and percussion steers the music beyond the classic acoustic limitations, the result becomes strikingly rich with contrasts.

What is abstract and introspective the first moment can switch – gradually or abruptly – to moments of fierce ecstasy the next. The music feels free (free from limitations, to choose its own logic), but also invites. Shifting moods and textures are combined with intricate rhythmical patterns, as the drummers lock together in dense, complex and/or ritualistic grooves.

A minimal pulse, accompanied by murmuring hisses of brushes and a serenading sax is contrasted with moments of exuberance.

The result is many things at once, but despite these wildly varying colors, sounds, textures, rhythms and moods, they are all linked, part of a generous, iridescent whole.

Matthias De Craene - Alto saxophone, Tenor saxophone
Simon Segers - Drums, Percussion, Electronics
Lennert Jacobs - Drums, Electronics
© Lundis d'Hortense, 1996-2013. Contact us   Disclaimer