Search in
English French Nederlands
Act Big Band & Guests
Act Big Band & Guests
Record Labels Igloo
Phonographic reference IGL 044
Released 1987
Media cd
Recorded November 1986
  Igloo studio, Brussels

Act Big band + guests Joe Lovano (ts) and John Ruocco (ts)
NB : this CD has been reissued in May 2012 in the Igloo Jazz Classics series.

More information about this album 
Buy this album 

Félix Simtaine - Drums, Leader    
Michel Herr - Piano, Composer, Musical Director    
Joe Lovano - Tenor saxophone   on # 3 & 4
John Ruocco - Tenor saxophone   on # 5
Philippe Aerts - Double bass    
Eric Verhaeghe - Trumpet    
Serge Plume - Trumpet    
Richard Rousselet - Trumpet    
Bert Joris - Trumpet, Composer    
Paul Bourdiaudhy - Trombone    
Marc Godfroid - Trombone    
Jean-Pol Danhier - Trombone, Tubas    
Peter Vandendriessche - Alto saxophone    
Erwin Vann - Tenor saxophone    
Kurt Van Herck - Tenor saxophone    
Johan Vandendriessche - Baritone saxophone    
Jean-Pierre Catoul - Violin (on # 2 only)    


Act Big Band  


1.   Pentaprism    
  Michel Herr
2.   Omnitonic      
  Francy Boland
3.   Extremes    
  Michel Herr
4.   In a sentimental mood      
  Duke Ellington (music), Bert Joris (arrangement)
  Arnould Massart
6.   Easy Fucksong      
  Bert Joris
7.   Rough Business      
  Jean Warland
8.   Ana Maria      
  Wayne Shorter (music), Michel Herr (arrangement)
9.   Rough Stuff      
  Jean Warland
ACT BIG BAND, a real institution on the Belgian jazz scene, invites two American guests : saxophonists Joe LOVANO and John RUOCCO. The repertoire is mainly composed of music written by prominent Belgian composers/arrangers. Four pieces have especially been written for this album : "Omnitonic" (by Francy BOLAND), the CD's title track "Extremes" (by the band's musical director Michel HERR), "Ré" (by Arnould MASSART) and "Rough Business" (by Jean WARLAND).

This CD has also been released in Canada, on the Amplitude label JACD-4002.

© Lundis d'Hortense, 1996-2013. Contact us   Disclaimer